AMERICAN PADDLE TENNIS ASSOCIATION

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE EOARD OF COVERNORS

The Annual Meeting of the Board of Governors of the American Paddle Tennis Association was held at the Yale Club at 4:00 P.M., October 27, 1949.

Those present were:

Mr. John A. Stephenson, Manursing Island Club - President Mr. Kenneth Ward, Manursing Island Club Mr. Oscar F. Moore, Fox Meadow Tennis Club Mr. Clifford Hipkins, Riverside Yacht Club Mr. Gordon Sanford, Fox Meadow Tennis Club Mr. Harold Holmes, Orange Lawn Tennis Club Mr. Herbert Allen Mr. Frederick Walker, Fox Meadow Tennis Club Mr. Allen M. Whitlock, Country Club of New Camaan Mr. Daniel Johnson, Seminole Club Mr. Russell MacDonald, Wee Burn Club

The Minutes of the last Governor's Board Meeting, held at the Yale Club on November 16, 1948 were unanimously accepted.

President's Report:

Mr. John A. Stephenson reviewed the events of the past year with particular reference to the good weather, which made the successful completion of all tournaments on schedule.

He expressed the thought that he would like to see the younger people come into the game to give the necessary impetus to the sport, and he hopes that the Clubs can encourage tournaments for the junior members.

He remarked that there is now no bowl in circulation for the mixed doubles permanent trophy, and thought it would be ideal if there were one to be engraved retroactively.

The President suggested that people become more students of the game of paddle tennis, in order to increase the interest in the sport. He also suggested experimentation with an eighteen inch longer base line as suggested by Mr. Roundey of Tennis Courts, Inc.

New Business;

The Jambores tournament at Manursing with the dance was pronounced such a success last year, that it was decided, on the recommendation of Ossar Moore, that the tournament be included again and that \$4.00 per person would be charged for this year's participation in either the dance or the tournament. The Association will underwrite further changes which it is hoped will be neglibible, as the per capits charge last year was \$3.50 and this year more participants will probably appear.

Treasurer's Reports

A report for the period ending November 14, 1949 was read by Mr. Walker, as follows:

Income-Men's Doubles 71.25 . . . 249.50 Jamboree Mixed Doubles 4.30 . . . Total 330.17 \$1,104.73 Expenses-Trophy-Engraving 5.04. Men's Doubles - (balls). 9.00 Prizes 54.29 Jamboree Tournement at Monursing . . 426.10 Total 519.39 The Treasurer announced that all dues, with the exception of those from the St. Louis Country Club have been paid. Tournaments: The following dates and Clubs were selected for 1949 -50 Tournaments: Men's Scrambles Manursing Invitation Manursing Island Club Jamboree Tournament N-15 Manursing Island Club Rye, New York Jano 22 22, 1950 Mixed Doubles Chaupionship 4.5 Englewood Field Club Women's Doubles Chempionship Fox Meadow Tennis Club men's Doubles Champendup mar 4-5, 1950 For meadow Tennis Club. Scassdale, New York

Results of 1948-49 Tournaments:

Men's Scrambles - Manursing Invitation - December 15, 1948 Dick Heberd & Bill Mason beat George Lowman & Kip Couch --6-3, 6-0, 6-3

Jamboree Tournament - Manursing - January 9, 1949 Mazie Moore & Russ MacDonald beat Mrs. Harned & Dan Dyer - 6-8, 6-1, 6-4

Mixed Doubles Championship - Englewood - February 11, 1949 Elfi & Ronnie Carroll beat Stewart & Mrs. Lyman

Men's Doubles Championship - Fox Meadow - March 5, 19h9 Dick Hebard & Fred Walker beat Kip Couch & Charlie Ø'Hearn---9-11, 6-1, 6-3, 6-1

Mominations:

Messra. Kennth Ward and F.S. Hanchard, of the Nominating Committee, proposed the following officers for the year 1948-19:

President	Will J. Price, Fox Meadow Tennis Club
1st Vice-President	James Kelly, Englewood Field Club
2nd Vice-President	Lanphear Buck, American Yacht Club
Secretary-Treasurer	Frederick Walker, Fox Meadow Tennis Club

The above were elected unanimously.

Committees:

The following Committees were appointed:

Executive Committee Nessrs, Will J. Price James Kelly Lamphear Buck Frederick Walker John A. Stephenson Gordon Sanford John Cookman Daniel Johnson F.S. Elanchard Kenneth Ward Holbrook Hyde Oscar F. Moore

Tournament Committee

Messre, Gordan Sanford, Fox Meadow Tennis Club - Chairman Oliver A. Kingsbury, Fox Meadow Tennis Club Oscar F. Moore, Fox Meadow Tennis Club H. Clay Johnson, Manursing Island Club Lanphear Buck, American Yacht Club J.M. Kelly, Englewood Field Club Madeleine Beck, Fox Meadow Tennis Club Russell MacDonald, Tee Barn Club

Publicity Committee

Mesars. Sanuel R. Harnad, Fox Meadow Tennis Club_s- Chairman Benjamin H. Ticknor, II, Englewood Field Club Kenneth Ward F. S. Blanchard Glifford Sutter

Rules & Equipment Committee

Messrs, F. S. Elanchard, Fox Meadow Tennis Club - Chairman Douglas S. Archbald, Manursing Island Club Weatherly Reinmund, Englewood Field Club Charles M. O'Hearn, Fox Meadow Tennis Club

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 6:00 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Frederick B. Walker Fox Meadow Tennis Club Scarsdale, New York

N.Y. Telephone - Vanderbilt 6-0500